Online Poker

World Series of Poker Main Event Players Reach Money

by Poker Team

And so the countdown begins.  After the elimination of thousands of players during the first 3 days of play, Day 4 concluded well after the money bubble had burst.  The top 648 players in this year’s WSOP made the money with the minimum prize being $21,365, slightly more than double the entrance fee.  The players played hand for hand for approximately 2 hours until a player from Los Angeles named Kia Hamadami busted out in 649th place.  Fortunately for Hamadami, by being the bubble boy, he “won” entry into the 2010 main event from sponsor Jack Link’s Beef Jerky.

Notable Players Knocked Out

The action was hot and heavy after everyone was assured of some money and play was stopped early after the field was whittled down to 407 remaining.  Many notable players were eliminated shortly after making the money including Phil Hellmuth who had his aces cracked by a made river straight, ending his championship dreams in 436th place.  In addition to Hellmuth, Greg “FBT” Mueller, Hevad Khan, Jesper Hougaard, Justin “ZeeJustin” Bonomo, Paul Wasicka, Alexander Kostritsyn, and Chris “Jesus” Ferguson also were knocked out.

Leading the way of the remaining players with $1.8 million in chips was Matt “mcmatto” Affleck who played most of the day with Mike Sexton and Lou Diamond Phillips.  Sexton was knocked out in 420th place.  At the beginning of the day, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier was the chip leader but lost the lead but still has $1.25 million left.

Many recognizable players remain in the hunt including former world champ Joe Hachem, Dennis Phillips, Theo Tran, Joe Sebok, Kenny Tran, David Benyamine, Kara Scott, Vitaly Lunkin, J.C.  Tran, Antonio Esfandiari, and last year’s champ, Peter Eastgate.

Below is a chip count of the top 25 chip leaders:
1. Matt Affleck - 1,819,000
2. Ludovic Lacay - 1,608,000
3. Tom Lutz - 1,600,000
4. James Akenhead - 1,572,000
5. Charlie Elias - 1,540,000
6. Miika Puumalainen - 1,492,000
7. Jordan Morgan - 1,489,000
8. Bernhard Perner - 1,426,000
9. Blair Hinkle - 1,399,000
10. Benjamin Jensen - 1,394,000
11. Billy Kopp - 1,385,000
12. Eracles Panayiotou - 1,299,000
13. Chuck Clark - 1,295,000
14. Abraham Mourshaki - 1,294,000
15. Phil Ivey - 1,276,000
16. Bertrand Grospelier - 1,253,000
17. Kevin Schaffel - 1,206,000
18. Keith Lehr - 1,190,000
19. Ben Lamb - 1,183,000
20. Patterson Tyler - 1,168,000
21. Rifat Palevic - 1,152,000
22. Joe Ward - 1,129,000
23. Nick Maimone - 1,104,000
24. Kasper Cordes - 1,095,000
25. Manuel Labandeira - 1,087,000

Yes, Phil Ivey is still hanging near the top. Can he win a 3rd bracelet this year? Not many would bet against him at this point.

    blog comments powered by Disqus