Online Poker

PokerStars World Cup of Poker

by Poker Team

Next week, PokerStars will be kicking off the most unique online poker event out there with the opening of the World Cup of Poker V. Like the championship soccer tournament which shares its name, the World Cup of Poker allows players to represent their respective countries in a series of online tournaments which will culminate with a live filmed for television final event which will take place at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure in the Bahamas on January 5th – 10th, 2009.

Download PokerStars

How it Works

This is a team event and ultimately, 54 four-player teams will be broken out into nine regional divisions. Each division will play in a set of tournaments to determine team scores. The better each individual team member fares, the higher the overall team score. The winners of each of these divisions are those who will win the packages to The Bahamas.

Like in past years, players from all nations and backgrounds are eligible to participate. The final 9 teams left standing amongst the rubble of fallen players win money with the championship team of 5 earning $100,000. Additionally, the final teams receive all-inclusive trips to the world-famous Atlantis Resort and Casino on Paradise Island to compete in the live main event to be later televised.

PokerStars World Cup Qualifiers

The best aspect is that players don’t have to pony up large sums of money to participate either as through the unique structure, even the smallest fish are eligible through preliminary freeroll tournaments. These freerolls are used to decide respective nation’s teams with next steps including a series of playoffs to determine the final 9 teams.

Two Players from Freeroll Qualifiers

Each country has 2 freerolls where the top 2 from each freeroll will win a seat on the team for their country.

Leaderboard Players Qualify

The top two players from the leaderboard for each country will automatically qualify for the World Cup. The leader board runs from Jan 1st to December 31st.

One Nominated Player

Each country will nominate one additional player to represent their team at the World Cup of Poker. The player will automatically qualify.

PokerStars World Cup Schedule

The road to the Bahamas is not an easy one and features many twists and turns. The schedule kicks of on November 13th for the beginning of Regional qualifying tournaments and the preliminary rounds run through November 16 with the Regional Teams Qualifier Finals. By November 21st, the Regional Teams will be finalized.

The remaining schedule is as follows:

November 23 Divisional Qualifications
November 27-28 National Team qualifying tournaments 1
November 29 National Team qualifying tournaments 2
November 30 National Team Qualifier Finals
December 1 - 5 Divisional Teams Finalized
December 7 Divisional Play-Offs
January 5-10 Bahamas live event

The rather complex series will ensure that only the cream of the crop will make it to Paradise Island to gun for the prestigious title.

This is the 5th World Cup of Poker and last year Team USA defeated players from 7 other countries at the final in Barcelona, Spain. Behind team captain, former World Champion Greg Raymer, the Americans defeated a talented group of players including Daniel Negreanu’s Canadian team, as well as teams from Portugal, Romania, Iceland, Mexico, Ireland, and Germany. This year, the international field will no doubt be looking to topple the Americans and deny a repeat.

Past winning nations at the World Cup of Poker:

World Cup of Poker I: Team Costa Rica
World Cup of Poker II: Team Costa Rica
World Cup of Poker III: Team Poland
World Cup of Poker IV: Team USA

Download PokerStars

    blog comments powered by Disqus