Online Poker

One More Seat Open for the WSOP Tournament of Champions

by Poker Team

There is one particular tournament at this year’s World Series of Poker that is ultra exclusive. There are no online poker qualifying tournaments. It is not open for wealthy businessmen looking to overpay to get in, and it is not open to anyone in the general public. Whoever wins it will not have to navigate through a field of thousands, yet winning it is just about as prestigious as any of the biggest world championship events with buy-ins of $10K or greater. In fact, merely being invited to participate in it is a gigantic accomplishment in its own right. The tournament is this year’s WSOP Tournament of Champions.

Tomorrow, Thursday, June 10th, the WSOP Academy will be holding a special tournament for 10 of poker’s brightest stars. At stake, the last remaining sponsor exemption for the 27 player, $1 million Tournament of Champions freeroll. Participation in this prestigious tournament is by invitation only, and is only open to a select few players who meet the exclusive criteria. The 9 players who will be participating in this high stakes sit and go are the following players:

Gus Hanson
Tom “Durrrr” Dwan
Andy Bloch
Bertrand “Elky” Grospellier
Don Cheadle
Sorel “Imper1um” Mizzi
Michael “The Grinder” Mizrachi
Liv Boeree
Paul Wasicka

The list represents a list of what is considered the top poker pros who have yet to win a World Series of Poker bracelet but have done very well on the tournament circuit in the past year.. Though actor Don Cheadle is not exactly synonymous with poker superstardom, his philanthropic efforts such as being one of the key people behind Ante Up for Africa is included for his major contributions to the game.

Headlining the invited list of players are Annie Duke, Mike Sexton, Mike “the Mouth” Matusow, Barry Shulman and Joe Cada, whom all earned automatic bids to the tournament. 20 additional players are being voted on by fans from a field of 50 and represent the top vote getters. Fans can vote through June 15th at

The Tournament of Champions is one of the three tournaments that will air on ESPN this year and will begin on June 27th. The final 9 players who survive the tough field will reconvene on the 4th of July at the Rio where a champion will be crowned. It is expected that most of poker’s heavy hitters will be on hand to observe the final sit and go which will feature Ali Nejad and Phil Hellmuth providing commentary.

More Poker Articles Like This...

  1. Tournament of Champions Field Now Finalized at the WSOP 2010
  2. Bertrand (Elky) Grospellier Earns Tournament of Champions Bid at WSOP
  3. 2009 WSOP Tournament Schedule
  4. World Series of Poker Champions
  5. The WSOP Could Add an All-Star Game
    blog comments powered by Disqus