Online Poker

NBC to Air “Face the Ace” Online Poker Show

by Poker Team

It seems like poker players are on television virtually everywhere these days. You had Annie Duke on the Celebrity Apprentice as the starting point. Then in the past week, rumors have swirled about Maria Ho and Tiffany Michelle competing in The Amazing Race and G4 announced that they will be airing a show called 2 Months, 2 Million.

Now, yet another show is set to hit the tube as Face the Ace, a show about online poker is set to air Saturday, August 1st. The show has been compared in structure to the popular cooking competition, the Iron Chef and will star professional poker player from Full Tilt Poker. The hour long episodes will be hosted by Sopranos’ actor Steve Schirripa and will run for 7 weeks.

The concept is rather unique. Four Full Tilt Poker pros will be seated behind a glass keeping their identities unknown. A contestant then chooses one of the four to play No Limit Hold em Heads Up. Should they defeat the pro, they will be rewarded with a $40,000 prize. At that point, they can either take the money or risk it against a second pro. Winning the second match earns them $200,000. At this point, they then have the option of going for a 3rd win against another pro and the prize would be a cool $1 million.

The only way to keep winning is to walk away before the next match starts. Being able to beat 3 top professional players in a row is no easy task making it unlikely for anyone to walk away with the ultimate prize. The show will be hosted by Poker After Dark’s Ali Nejad and Megan Abrigo, who is one of the models from Deal or No Deal.

The pro list is a who’s who of Full Tilt Poker’s finest. Players expected to participate include Patrik Antonius, Andy Bloch, Allen Cunningham, Chris Ferguson, Phil Gordon, Gus Hansen, Jennifer Harman, Phil Ivey, John Juanda, and others.

The Face the Ace air dates are as follows:

August 1st, 2009 – 9:00pm ET
August 8th, 2009 – 9:00pm ET
September 12th, 2009 – 2:00pm ET
October 31st, 2009 – 3:30pm ET
November 14th, 2009 – 3:00pm ET
December 12th, 2009 – 3:00pm ET
January 2nd, 2010 – 2:30pm ET

    blog comments powered by Disqus