Online Poker

2010 WSOP Winners

by Poker Team

As this year’s installment of the poker world’s crown jewel, the World Series of Poker 2010, enters its 3rd week, just about half of this year’s coveted bracelets have been awarded. As is usually the case this time of year, new and intriguing storylines emerge on a daily basis as established pros and green amateurs set out to capture their own piece of glory. Thus far, the bracelet winners represent some household names and other virtual unknowns.

Michael “The Grinder” Mizrachi essentially kicked things off by outlasting one of the toughest tournament fields ever in the $50,000 Players Championship, which included him knocking out his brother Robert in 5th place. Other notable pros bring home titles include the previously embattled Dutch Boyd who captured his 2nd bracelet and Sammy Farha who took down his 3rd. In addition, the widely reviled Men “The Master” Nguyen boozed his way to the Stud World Championship title as well. Other players were able to prove that past showing were no fluke as Tex Barch won his first WSOP title, his best showing since his final table run in the main event in 2006.

The biggest story of them all to this point was Tom “Durrrr” Dwan almost winning his first bracelet (he finished 2nd) in the $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event and nearly bankrupting many top pros in the process. It has been reported that he stood to make eight figures in won side bets had he won that bracelet, and the bets are still in effect for the duration of the series. Additionally, Annette Obrestad has disappointed greatly thus far, not going far in any of the events she has participated in, and Phil Ivey has been unable to get anything going.

Still a few weeks remain and more stories will unfold. Check back in for more WSOP news in the coming weeks.

2010 WSOP Winners

Event 1 - $500 No-Limit Hold’em Casino Employees
Winner: Hoai Pham
1st Place Prize: $71,424

Event 2 - $50,000 Players Championship
Winner: Michael Mizrachi
1st Place Prize: $1,559,046

Event 3 - $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em
Winner: Aadam Daya
1st Place Prize: $625,872

Event 4 - $1,500 Omaha 8 or Better
Winner: Michael Chow
1st Place Prize: $237,463

Event 5 - $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em
Winner: Praz Bansi
1st Place Prize: $515,501

Event 6 - $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em Shootout
Winner: Joshua Tieman
1st Place Prize: $441,692

Event 7 - $2,500 2-7 Triple Draw Lowball
Winner: Peter Gelencser
1st Place Prize: $180,730

Event 8 - $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em
Winner: Pascal LeFrancois
1st Place Prize: $568,974

Event 9 - $1,500 Pot-Limit Hold’em
Winner: James Dempsey
1st Place Prize: $197,470

Event 10 - $10,000 Seven Card Stud Championship
Winner: Men Nguyen
1st Place Prize: $394,800

Event 11 - $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em
Winner: Simon Watt
1st Place Prize: $614,248

Event 12 - $1,500 Limit Hold’em
Winner: Matthew Matros
1st Place Prize: $189,870

Event 13 - $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em
Winner: Steve Gee
1st Place Prize: $472,479

Event 14 - $1,500 2-7 No-Limit Lowball
Winner: Yan Chen
1st Place Prize: $92,817

Event 15 - $10,000 Seven Card Stud 8 or Better Championship
Winner: Frank Kassela
1st Place Prize: $447,446

Event 16 - $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em Six Handed
Winner: Carter Phillips
1st Place Prize: $482,774

Event 17 - $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em
Winner: Jason Dewitt
1st Place Prize: $818,959

Event 18 - $2,000 Limit Hold’em
Winner: Eric Buchman
1st Place Prize: $203,607

Event 19 - $10,000 2-7 No-Limit Lowball Championship
Winner: David Baker
1st Place Prize: $294,314

Event 20 - $1,500 Pot-Limit Omaha
Winner: John Barch
1st Place Prize: $256,919

Event 21 - $1,500 Seven Card Stud
Winner: Richard Ashby
1st Place Prize: $140,467

Event 22 - $1,000 Ladies No-Limit Hold’em
Winner: Vanessa Hellebuyck
1st Place Prize: $192,132

Event 23 - $2,500 Limit Hold’em Six Handed
Winner: Dutch Boyd
1st Place Prize: $234,065

Event 24 - $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em
Still in progress

Event 25 - $10,000 Omaha 8 or Better Championship
Winner: Sam Farha
1st Place Prize: $488,237

    blog comments powered by Disqus