Online Poker

2010 Poker Hall of Fame Process Underway

by Poker Team

With the 2010 World Series of Poker Main Event in full swing in the midst of day 4, the time has come for annual consideration for whom will be considered into the 2010 Poker Hall of Fame. Last year’s nomination process was filled with controversy and heated debate as one of the leading public vote getters, Tom “Durrrr” Dwan was among the leaders. In fact, his name ended up being dropped off the ballot altogether as directors invoked the “standing the test of time” clause as the young star simply had not proven hall worthy based solely on his exploits at the nosebleed high stakes online cash games.

The official voting is now open to the public who can submit their vote at the WSOP website. Each voter is allowed only 1 vote each. The polls will be open from now until September 1st, when Harrah’s and WSOP officials will announce the public results. These finalists will not have earned induction however. Instead, the finalists will be voted upon by the 16 living Hall of Fame members and members of the poker media. At that point, the top two vote getters will be inducted during the Main Event final table in November 2010. This is a change from the past in which 75% of the official votes would need to be tallied for enshrinement. Last year’s sole new member was Mike Sexton.

Prospective inductees must adhere to a strict set of criteria, high standards if you will. Established in 1979 and reserved only for the best of the best, the Hall of Fame is reserved only for those who are true legends of the game. In addition to honoring players, the Hall of Fame also allows entry for executives and innovators who have exhibited worthy contributions to the game of poker. Players must have shown consistency for an extended time period and must have achieved a certain level of respect from their poker peers. It is common for inductees to have been professionals for 30 years or longer. You can be sure that this honor is reserved only for the most worthy.

    blog comments powered by Disqus